## 32.-Members of the Legislative Council of Quebec, as at Oct. 31, 1959

(According to seniority)

Name	Division <sup>1</sup>	Date of Appointment
R. O. Grothé	De Salaberry	Dec. 23, 1927
VICTOR MARCHAND	Rigaud	Apr. 15, 1932
HECTOR LAFERTÉ	Stadacona	July 23, 1934
J. L. Baribeau (Speaker)	Shawinigan	Jan. 14, 1938
PHILIPPE BRAIS	Grandville	Feb. 16, 1940
JULES BRILLANT	Golfe	Jan. 14, 1942
Frank L. Connors	Mille Isles	Jan. 14, 1942
ROBERT R. NESS	Inkerman	Jan. 14, 1942
FÉLIX MESSIER	De Lanaudière	Feb. 12, 1942
ÉDOUARD ASSELIN	Wellington	Jan. 23, 1946
Geo. B. Foster	Victoria	Aug. 22, 1946
J. OLIER RENAUD	Alma	Aug. 22, 1946
PATRICE TARDIF	De la Vallière	July 20, 1952
JOSEPH BOULANGER	De la Durantaye	Oct. 8, 1952
ÉDOUARD MASSON	Repentigny	Mar. 12, 1953
Albert Bouchard	La Salle	Nov. 24, 1954
JEAN BARRETTE	Sorel	Oct. 19, 1955
ÉMILE LESAGE	Montarville	Aug. 1, 1956
ALBINY PAQUETTE	Rougemont	Oct. 29, 1958
JOHN P. ROWATT	De Lorimier	Oct. 29, 1958
Ernest Benoit	Kennebec	Apr. 8, 1959
GÉRALD MARTINEAU	Lauzon	Sept. 30, 1959
Antonio Auger	Les Laurentides	Sept. 30, 1959

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> The Division of Bedford was unrepresented at Oct. 31, 1959.

## Subsection 6.—Ontario

The Government of Ontario consists of a Lieutenant-Governor, an Executive Council and a House of Assembly. The House of Assembly, the single-chamber Legislature of the province, is composed of 98 members elected for a statutory term of five years.

Besides the regular departments of government, the Niagara Parks Commission, the Ontario Municipal Board, The Hydro-Electric Power Commission of Ontario, the Ontario-St. Lawrence Development Commission, the Ontario Northland Transportation Commission, the Liquor Control Board, the Liquor Licence Board, the Hospital Services Commission and The Water Resources Commission have been created.

Under the provisions of the Legislative Assembly Act (RSO 1950, c. 202, and amendments) each member of the Assembly is paid an annual indemnity of \$3,600 and an allowance of \$1,800 for expenses. In addition, the Speaker receives a special indemnity at the annual rate of \$3,000 and an expense allowance of \$2,000; the Chairman of the Committee of the Whole a special indemnity at the annual rate of \$1,000; and the Leader of the Opposition a special indemnity of \$3,000 and an annual allowance of \$2,000 for expenses. Each member of the Cabinet having charge of a department receives the ordinary indemnity as a member of the Legislature in addition to his salary as a Minister of the Crown. The salary provided in the Executive Council Act for the Premier is